Brexit is the process of the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union (EU). At midnight on 31 January 2020 CET (respectively, on 1 February 2020, at 01:00 Latvian time), the United Kingdom withdrew from the EU. Under the Withdrawal Treaty, a transitional period has entered into force from 1 February to 31 December 2020, during which the United Kingdom will no longer be a member of the EU but will continue to be subject to EU rights and obligations. EU-UK cooperation will continue during this period as before, with the sole exception that the UK will no longer participate in EU decision-making.

Transitional period for negotiations on the future of EU-UK relations, or relations between the parties, will continue from 1 January 2021. This is provided for in the Joint Political Declaration of the Parties of 17 October 2019 on the Framework for Future Relations. The political declaration confirms that the parties have a clear intention to draw up agreements and to enter into a formal negotiation process as soon as possible after the UK's withdrawal from the EU, so that they can enter into force, if possible after the end of the transition period (read more).

Up-to-date information on Brexit in Latvia is available on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website, as well as a common e-mail address has been established, where residents and entrepreneurs can ask relevant questions. Active communication is also ensured by the Latvian Embassy in the United Kingdom by posting current information on their website and on the Embassy's Facebook page.